Polara's long-awaited fifth album Beekeeping is available now!

It's been over three years since the band's last release, but the wait was worth it! Beekeeping is teeming with the trademark Polara sound - adventurous, exciting "pysch" excursions, dreamy sonic textures, all contained within a concise 3-4 minute pop song framework. The record features some of the band's coolest songs to date, including "Another Phase", "Both Ends Burning". and the amazing "E Flat". Core band members Ed Ackerson, Jennifer Jurgens, and Peter Anderson have refined the Polara sound to a point where they can blend the most sublime, singalong hooks with the most searing noise with an almost offhand ease. This is a mature but vibrant record full of skronk and melody, sure to brighten the spirits of Polara fans old and new.

Beekeeping is available on CD direct from the Susstones Shop. Also available digitally from all major online vendors including iTunes.
Polara - Beekeeping

Jetpack Blues


"Jetpack Blues" is Polara's latest and best album of supreme psychedelic noise pop. Ed Ackerson and his intrepid crew once again stake out their claim on the Future of Pop. Features the singles "Is This It?", "Jetpack Blues", "Obsolete" and "The Story So Far".

"The first five songs? All classics. And there are more waiting on the flip side."
- Ryan DeGama, Neumu

"Proving that he has plenty of genius left in him, Ackerson returns with the stellar Jetpack Blues"
- John Davidson, Creative Loafing

"Polara's newest, Jetpack Blues, is one of the year's major highlights...Ackerson and co. produce energetic, tightly crafted pop that expands and revels in a universe of musical possibilities...9/10"
- Michael Nelson, New Island Review

Track listing:
1. Can't Get Over You
2. Is This It?
3. Jetpack Blues
4. Sweep Me Away
5. Wig On
6. Obsolete
7. Hold onto the Thread
8. Overboard
9. Other
10. The Story So Far
11. Eight by Twelve

Produced by Ed Ackerson at Flowers Studio, Minneapolis

Ed Ackerson- vocals, guitars, bass, organ, piano, synthesizers, programming, loops, percussion
Jennifer Jurgens- vocals, guitars, piano, organ, synthesizers
Dan Boen- bass, synthesizers, programming
Peter Anderson- drums on 2, 3, 4, 5
Marc Iwanin- drums on 9
Gary Louris- drone and main lead guitar on 6
Knobby- drums on 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Erik Mathison- drums on 3, 6, 9, 10
John Strohm- horn arrangement and reverse consultation on 3
Janey Winterbauer- backing vocal on 5

IMCD2501 A Susstones Product. ©2002-03 All Rights Reserved.

Production history:
first pressing (promotional only) in color cardboard sleeves
second, third, and fourth pressings in color Digipaks
fifth pressing onward (current version): jewel case with color booklet and tray card

Green Shoes EP

Out of Stock

Polara roars back from a long hiatus with this crackling collection of tunes. The lead track “Green Shoes” is taken from the band’s forthcoming album Beekeeping (scheduled for fall release). The other tracks are exclusive to this limited-edition EP. “Green Shoes”, “Thirty Seconds” and “Teapot Tempest” all soar and sear in the trademark Polara fashion, the fast-paced rhythm and heavenly harmonies gliding over shimmering noisepop arrangements. “What’s Come Over Me” and “Time Slipping Away” turn up the atmospherics without slackening the pace. Faster, leaner and more direct than the band’s last album (the critically lauded Jetpack Blues), the EP is a super-strong set of songs, a portable, bite-sized sample of where this ever-evolving band is moving.

The band – Ed Ackerson (vocals, guitar), Jennifer Jurgens (vocals, guitars), Peter Anderson (drums), and Dan Boen (bass) – have long established themselves as one of Minneapolis’ brightest pop lights over the release of four albums on Clean, Interscope and Susstones. With Green Shoes Polara continues stronger than ever on a path of creating idiosyncratic sing-alongs for a modern era.

Track listing:
1. Green Shoes
2. 30 Seconds
3. Teapot Tempest
4. What's Come Over Me
5. Time Slipping Away
6. Green Shoes (Radio Edit)